Enhancing Interdisciplinary Collaboration in Primary Health Care Initiative

Our Privacy Policy

Purpose


This Privacy Policy is designed to comply with applicable privacy legislation in Canada. It is also designed to help individuals understand how their personal information is managed in the Enhancing Interdisciplinary Collaboration in Primary Health Care (EICP) Initiative.

Scope


Those individuals protected by this Privacy Policy include customers and prospective customers. This Privacy Policy applies only to information collected during the course of commercial activities.

Exceptions


If the policies and procedures outlined in this document do not address a specific situation, individuals are expected to contact the EICP Initiative Chief Privacy Officer for guidance or clarification.

The Principles


Our Privacy Policy is designed to comply with applicable privacy legislation in Canada. It incorporates the following 10 principles:
  1. Accountability

  2. Identifying Purpose

  3. Consent

  4. Limiting Collection

  5. Limiting Use, Disclosure and Retention

  6. Accuracy of Personal Information

  7. Safeguarding Personal Information

  8. Openness

  9. Access to Personal Information

  10. Challenging Compliance

If we change our Privacy Policy in the future, those changes will be included in updates to our official Privacy Policy, wherever it is made available. Thus, you will always know what information we collect, how we use it and how we protect it. When personal information that has been collected is to be used for a purpose not previously identified, the new purpose will be identified to you prior to use.

Accountability


The EICP Initiative is responsible for maintaining and protecting the personal information under its control. Accountability for this function within our organization is held by:

Glen Roberts
EICP Initiative c/o The Conference Board of Canada
255 Smyth Road
Ottawa, ON K1H 8M7
info@eicp-acis.ca

Identifying Purpose


The EICP Initiative will identify to an individual the purposes for which personal information is collected at or before the time the information is collected. Generally, the EICP Initiative collects personal information for the following purposes:
  • to manage and develop the EICP Initiative business and operations, including personnel and employment matters; and
  • to meet legal and regulatory requirements.

However, there may be other circumstances that require such information to be collected and used.

The EICP Initiative collects the following personal information from individuals during the course of normal commercial activities. The information obtained includes name, business title, rank, function and general contact information, levels of interest for our services and topics, and transaction activity with the EICP Initiative.

This information is used primarily to determine an individual's entitlement to the EICP Initiative. In addition, this information may be used to:

  • Enable individuals to tailor the presentation of our services to better meet their needs (e.g., a customized home page, selected distribution of our research reports).

  • Inform individuals about EICP Initiative products and services that we believe may be of interest to them.

  • Better understand an individual's interests in our products and services.

  • Develop, enhance or improve products and services.

  • Share delegate or participant information amongst conference and network participants.

The EICP Initiative routinely collects anonymous, non-personal information through our Web servers. This is information that is not associated with or traced back to a specific individual. Gathered electronically, this information includes the type of Web browser used, the level of encryption a browser supports and the Internet Protocol address. This information may be used for research and analytical purposes, to examine how the Web site is being used and to determine how it can be improved.

The EICP Initiative also uses cookies. A cookie is a small piece of information that is sent to your computer when you access a Web site. There are two kinds of cookies. A session cookie is stored temporarily in your computer's memory. A session cookie is destroyed as soon as you close your browser. A persistent cookie is a more permanent line of text that gets saved to your hard drive.

We use session cookies on the EICP Initiative Web site, to allow you to gain access to a document you requested prior to being signed in. Persistent cookies are used to store your encrypted user ID and password, so that you won't have to type it in each time that you access e-Library. A persistent cookie is only set if you click on “Remember my sign-in information.”

Consent


An individual's knowledge and consent are required before the EICP Initiative is allowed to collect, use or disclose his or her personal information, except where inappropriate. Where possible, the EICP Initiative will obtain consent directly from the individual concerned at the time of collection. After having provided consent, an individual has the right to withdraw consent at any time by providing reasonable notice to the EICP Initiative's Chief Privacy Officer.

By subscribing to our reports and services, registering for a seminar, presentation or access to our on-line information services, using other EICP Initiative member services, or otherwise indicating approval, individuals consent to the collection and use of their personal information for the purposes identified in this Privacy Policy.

The EICP Initiative will not require you to consent to the collection, use or disclosure of personal information beyond that required to provide our products or services to you. If you wish to withdraw your consent or to opt out of the uses or disclosures of your information for the purposes identified in this Privacy Policy, you may do so by contacting our Chief Privacy Officer. If your request requires that we delete your registration information, we will no longer be able to provide you with the services or products for which you have subscribed. Cancellation will be subject to the terms and conditions of the subscription or services provided, as applicable.

In limited circumstances, the EICP Initiative may use or disclose personal information without the knowledge or consent of the individual, for example, for purposes of debt collection, breaches of agreements, as required by governmental bodies acting with authority, or as authorized or required by applicable legislation.

Limiting Collection


The EICP Initiative collects only the information that is necessary for the purposes outlined in this Privacy Policy.

Limiting Use, Disclosure and Retention


The EICP Initiative does not use personal information for purposes other than those for which it was collected, except with an individual's consent or as required by law. Once personal information is no longer required to fulfill the identified purposes or other legal requirements, it will be destroyed, deleted or made anonymous.

The EICP Initiative sometimes uses the services of external firms to assist us in communicating with individuals (e.g., surveys and mail distribution) or as a means of providing more effective and efficient services to these individuals (e.g., technology support). Our external suppliers are contractually obligated to keep the information confidential, to use the information only for the purpose requested and to destroy the information when it is no longer required.

Customer information is shared with external service providers only to the extent required for the provision of such services. Furthermore, the EICP Initiative does not sell personal information to a third-party organization. In certain circumstances, we allow basic contact information to be shared amongst members. Examples of this include providing delegate lists for conferences to other participants or sharing contact information amongst members of our executive networks, to facilitate ongoing communication.

Personal information is retained only as long as necessary for the fulfillment of the purposes stated in this policy.

Accuracy of Personal Information


Personal information is kept as accurate, complete and up to date as necessary for the purposes for which it is to be used. Individuals are encouraged to provide updates to their personal information as changes occur, to enable us to continue to provide services to them.

The personal information of customers can be reviewed and modified either directly on-line or by contacting our Web site administrator.

Glen Roberts
EICP Initiative c/o The Conference Board of Canada
255 Smyth Road
Ottawa, ON K1H 8M7
info@eicp-acis.ca

Safeguarding Personal Information


Personal information, whatever its form, will be protected by security safeguards appropriate to the sensitivity of the information. The safeguards will protect personal information against loss or theft, as well as unauthorized access, disclosure, copying, use or modification. The measures of protection include:
  • physical measures, for example, locking filing cabinets and restricted access to offices;

  • organizational measures, for example, security passes and limiting access to the personal information on a “need-to-know” basis;

  • technological measures, for example, the use of passwords and encryption; and

  • procedural measures, for example, the shredding of sensitive personal information.

Openness


The EICP Initiative is committed to being open about its policies and practices with respect to the handling of personal information. Our Privacy Policy is available through our home page and e-Library Web sites. If a hard copy or additional information is required, requests for such information may be made to the Chief Privacy Officer.

Access to Personal Information


Individuals may request a copy of their personal information held at the EICP Initiative by submitting a written request to the Chief Privacy Officer at the address above. Acceptable proof of identification is required before such information is given out. If you feel the information we have about you is inaccurate, you may request that it be reviewed and, if inaccurate, changed, by contacting the Chief Privacy Officer.

Challenging Compliance


An individual can challenge compliance with the above policy by providing written details of the challenge to the Chief Privacy Officer.

© Copyright 2004 EICP Initiative c/o The Conference Board of Canada - Terms of use

Get Involved

Spotlight on Collaboration

The Collaboration Toolkit is now available for your reading pleasure. This toolkit contains our last research report—Interdisciplinary Primary Health Care: Finding the Answers—and a vast warehouse containing tools that have been designed across the country to support interdisciplinary practices. The Collaboration Toolkit offers practical tips and tools such as checklists, vision and policy statements, floor plans, transfer of function agreements, and many others. It is a must-read for anyone considering—or involved in—interdisciplinary care.

Previous Spotlights

English Accueil Recherche Contactez-nous

 Qui sommes-nous?
 Principes et cadre
 Plan de travail
 Qu’en dit-on?
 Ressources/Recherche
 Nouvelles
 FAQ
 Liens

  
 

Politique de protection de la vie privée

But


La présente politique de protection de la vie privée s’inspire de la législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada. Son but est d’aider les gens à comprendre comment leurs renseignements personnels sont gérés dans le cadre de l’Initiative pour l’amélioration de la collaboration interdisciplinaire en soins de santé primaire (ACIS).

Portée


Les clients actuels et à venir sont parmi les personnes protégées par cette politique, qui ne s’applique qu’aux renseignements recueillis dans le contexte d’activités commerciales.

Exceptions


Si la politique et les procédures énoncées dans le présent document ne couvrent pas une situation particulière, les personnes concernées doivent communiquer avec le responsable de la protection de la vie privée de l’Initiative ACIS pour obtenir des avis ou un éclaircissement.

Principes


Notre politique de protection de la vie privée s’inspire de la législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada. Elle reprend les dix principes suivants :

  1. Responsabilité

  2. Raison de la collecte

  3. Consentement

  4. Limitation des renseignements recueillis

  5. Restriction de l’usage, de la divulgation et de la conservation

  6. Exactitude des renseignements personnels

  7. Sauvegarde des renseignements personnels

  8. Transparence

  9. Accès aux renseignements personnels recueillis

  10. Remise en question du respect de la loi

En cas de changements, ils seront indiqués dans les mises à jour de la politique officielle, partout où elle est diffusée. Ainsi, vous serez toujours au courant du type de renseignements que nous recueillons, de l’usage que nous en faisons et de la façon dont nous les protégeons. Lorsque nous prévoirons utiliser des renseignements personnels à des fins autres que celles énumérées antérieurement, nous vous informerons, au préalable, de la nouvelle raison de l’utilisation.

Responsabilité


L’équipe ACIS est chargée de conserver et de protéger les renseignements personnels sous son contrôle. À l’intérieur de notre organisation, cette fonction relève de:

Glen Roberts
Initiative ACIS a
.s. du Conference Board du Canada
255, chemin Smyth
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1H 8M7
info@eicp-acis.ca

Raison de la collecte


L’équipe ACIS indiquera à la personne concernée les raisons de la collecte d’un renseignement personnel, au moment ou avant de le faire. De façon générale, l’équipe ACIS recueille des renseignements personnels pour les raisons suivantes :
  • pour gérer ou organiser les activités et le fonctionnement de l’Initiative ACIS, y compris des questions liées au personnel et à l’emploi;

  • pour satisfaire des exigences légales ou réglementaires.

Néanmoins, il pourrait y avoir d’autres circonstances nous obligeant à recueillir de tels renseignements et à les utiliser.

Parmi les renseignements personnels recueillis par l’équipe ACIS au cours d’activités commerciales normales, il y a le nom de la personne, son titre professionnel, son rang, sa fonction, l’information générale permettant de la joindre, son niveau d’intérêt pour nos services et sujets de recherche et le type de transaction effectuée avec l’équipe ACIS.

Cette information sert surtout à déterminer l’admissibilité d’une personne à l’Initiative ACIS. Elle sert aussi aux fins suivantes :

  • permettre d’adapter la présentation de nos services aux besoins de la personne en question (p. ex. une page d’accueil personnalisée, une distribution sélective de nos rapports de recherche);

  • informer des personnes des produits et services de l’Initiative ACIS qui, selon nous, pourraient les intéresser;

  • mieux comprendre ce qui peut susciter l’intérêt d’une personne pour nos produits et services;

  • créer, augmenter ou améliorer des produits et services;

  • partager de l’information d’un participant ou d’un délégué avec les participants à une conférence ou les membres d’un réseau.

L’équipe ACIS recueille, de façon routinière, des renseignements anonymes et non personnels par l’intermédiaire de ses serveurs Web. Cette information n’est pas associée à une personne en particulier ou ne permet pas d’en retracer l'origine. Recueillie électroniquement, cette information comprend le type de navigateur Web utilisé, le niveau d’encryptage qu’il supporte et l’adresse de protocole Internet. Elle peut être utilisée à des fins de recherche et d’analyse, afin d’examiner comment le site Web est utilisé et de trouver des façons de l’améliorer. 

L’équipe ACIS se sert aussi de témoins. Un témoin est un petit élément d’information envoyé à votre ordinateur lorsque vous accédez à un site Web. Il y en a deux sortes : le témoin volatil, stocké temporairement dans la mémoire de votre ordinateur et détruit aussitôt que vous fermez le navigateur; le témoin persistant, c’est-à-dire une ligne de texte permanente sauvegardée sur votre disque dur.

Nous utilisons des témoins volatils sur le site Web de l’Initiative ACIS, afin de vous permettre d’accéder à un document que vous avez demandé avant d’être inscrit. Les témoins persistants nous servent à stocker votre code d’utilisateur et votre mot de passe encryptés, de sorte que vous n’avez pas à les entrer chaque fois que vous accédez à e-Library. Un témoin persistant n’est installé que si vous cliquez sur « Remember my sign-in information ».

Consentement


Avant de recueillir, d’utiliser ou de communiquer des renseignements personnels, l’équipe ACIS doit en informer la personne concernée et obtenir son consentement, sauf lorsque cette règle ne s’applique pas. Si possible, l’équipe ACIS obtiendra le consentement directement de la personne concernée au moment de la collecte. Après avoir donné son consentement, une personne a le droit de le retirer n’importe quand, en donnant toutefois un délai raisonnable au responsable de la protection de la vie privée de l’Initiative ACIS.

En s’abonnant à nos rapports de recherche et à nos services, en s’inscrivant à un séminaire ou à une présentation, en demandant l’accès à nos services d’information en ligne, en utilisant d’autres services offerts aux membres de l’Initiative ACIS, ou en donnant leur approbation autrement, les personnes concernées consentent à la collecte et à l’utilisation de leurs renseignements personnels aux fins énoncées dans la politique de protection de la vie privée.

L’équipe ACIS ne vous demandera pas de consentir à la collecte, à l’utilisation ou à la divulgation de renseignements personnels autres que ceux dont elle a besoin pour vous fournir ses produits et services. Si vous souhaitez retirer votre consentement ou si vous renoncez à l’utilisation ou à la divulgation de vos renseignements aux fins prévues par la politique de protection de la vie privée, vous pouvez le faire en communiquant avec notre responsable de la protection de la vie privée. Si, pour répondre à votre demande, nous devons supprimer l’information relative à votre inscription, nous ne serons plus en mesure de vous fournir les services et produits pour lesquels vous vous êtes abonné(e). L’annulation se fera sous réserve des conditions de l’abonnement ou des services fournis, selon le cas.

Dans certaines circonstances, l’équipe ACIS peut utiliser ou communiquer des renseignements personnels sans en informer la personne concernée ou sans son consentement, par exemple, aux fins de recouvrement de créances ou de ruptures d’ententes, à la demande des organismes gouvernementaux qui en ont le pouvoir, ou comme le permet ou l’exige la loi.

Limitation de la collecte


L’équipe ACIS ne recueille que les renseignements nécessaires aux fins énoncées dans la politique de protection de la vie privée.

Restriction de l’utilisation, de la divulgation et de la conservation  


L’équipe ACIS n’utilise pas de renseignements personnels à d’autres fins que celles pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis, sauf si la personne concernée y consent ou si la loi l’exige. Lorsque les renseignements personnels ne sont plus requis aux fins d’identification ou d’autres prescriptions légales, ils ont détruits ou supprimés ou deviennent anonymes.

L’équipe ACIS utilise parfois les services d’autres entreprises pour faciliter la communication avec ses clients (p. ex. sondages et distribution du courrier) ou comme moyen de fournir des services plus efficients et plus efficaces (p. ex. soutien technique). Les conditions des contrats avec les fournisseurs à l’externe obligent ces derniers à respecter le caractère confidentiel des renseignements, à ne les utiliser qu’aux fins prévues et à les détruire lorsqu’ils ne sont plus nécessaires.

L’information relative aux clients n’est partagée avec des fournisseurs de services à l’externe que dans la mesure nécessaire à la prestation de ces services. En outre, l’équipe ACIS ne vend pas de renseignements personnels à des tiers. Dans certains cas, nous permettons qu’il y ait partage d’information essentielle entre les membres. Par exemple, nous fournissons des listes de délégués de conférences à d’autres participants, ou les membres de nos réseaux de cadres partagent l’information nécessaire pour communiquer entre eux de façon continue.

Les renseignements personnels ne sont conservés que s’ils sont nécessaires à l’atteinte des fins énoncées dans la présente politique. 

Exactitude des renseignements personnels


Les renseignements personnels conservés sont exacts, complets et à jour, comme l’exige leur utilisation. Nous encourageons les personnes concernées à mettre à jour leurs renseignements personnels quand surviennent des changements, de façon à nous permettre de continuer à leur fournir nos services.

Les clients concernées peuvent réviser ou modifier leurs renseignements personnels directement en ligne ou en communiquant avec l’administrateur de notre site Web.

Glen Roberts
Initiative ACIS a
.s. du Conference Board du Canada
255, chemin Smyth
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1H 8M7
info@eicp-acis.ca

Sauvegarde de renseignements personnels


Quelle que soit leur forme, nous protégeons les renseignements personnels à l’aide de mesures de sécurité appropriées, adaptés à la nature des renseignements. Ces mesures de protection en préviennent la perte ou le vol, ainsi que l’accès, la divulgation, la reproduction, l’utilisation ou la modification non autorisés. Elles comprennent :
  • des mesures physiques, par exemple le verrouillage des classeurs et un accès limité à nos bureaux;

  • des mesures organisationnelles, par exemple des laissez-passer et un accès restreint à l’information personnelle, en fonction des besoins;

  • des mesures technologiques, par exemple l’utilisation de mots de passe et d’encryptage;

  • des mesures de procédure, par exemple le déchiquetage de documents contenant des renseignements personnels de nature délicate.

Transparence


L’équipe ACIS s’engage à agir avec transparence dans l’établissement de ses lignes directrices et de ses pratiques concernant la gestion des renseignements personnels. Notre politique sur la protection de la vie privée est accessible par l’intermédiaire de notre page d’accueil et des sites Web de e-Library. Les demandes concernant des copies papier ou des renseignements supplémentaires peuvent être adressées au responsable de la protection de la vie privée.

Accès aux renseignements personnels


Les personnes concernées peuvent demander une copie des renseignements personnels détenus à leur sujet par l’Initiative ACIS, en écrivant au responsable de la protection de la vie privée à l’adresse mentionnée ci-dessus. Des pièces d’identité sont requises avant que de tels renseignements ne soient communiqués. Si vous pensez que l’information est inexacte, vous pouvez demander qu’on la revoit et, le cas échéant, qu’on la modifie en communiquant avec le responsable de la protection de la vie privée.

Remise en question du respect de la loi


Une personne peut remettre en question le bien-fondé de notre politique ou son respect de la loi en adressant une lettre détaillée au responsable de la protection de la vie privée.

 

© Copyright 2004 Initiative ACIS a.s. du Conference Board du Canada – Conditions d’utilisation

 
Branchez-vous!

Ajoutez votre nom à notre carnet de visite pour obtenir régulièrement nos mises à jour.

Retirer son nom de notre carnet de visite ]

Pour participer!
Présenter une demande
Participez à nos enquêtes en direct
Pleins feux sur la collaboration
Rashna Batliwalla, pharmacienne à Ottawa, est appelée à collaborer beaucoup plus avec des professionnels essentiels à la santé de sa collectivité : les médecins de famille. >à suivre

Articles precedents